2018 Dove Awards Winners: Show Broadcasting This Sunday On TBN

Marcus Lundin Oct 19, 2018 06:16 PM EDT
CORY ASBURY/GMA DOVE AWARDS/GOSPEL MUSIC ASSOCIATION Cory Asbury honored in three categories at the 2018 Dove Awards.

On Tuesday, the 49th Annual GMA Dove Awards was held in Nashville, honoring artists, producers, and songwriters across 40 nomination categories with one of the most prestigious awards in Christian music. While no single artist dominated the show in 2018, the biggest winner was arguably Cory Asbury with his single and album "Reckless Love," which were named Song of the Year, Worship Song of the Year, and Worship Album of the Year respectively.

"Isn't it just like the Lord to take our failures and our overall jacked-upness [sic] and turn it into something beautiful?" Asbury said as he took the stage to accept the award for Song of the Year. "He takes our disappointments and he turns it into a dance floor. We get to remember how to be kids again."

Another big winner on Tuesday was Zach Williams who took home Artist of the Year as well as Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year for "Old Church Choir." The song's writer, Colby Wedgeworth received the honors for Songwriter of the Year (non-artist), while Matthew West received the award for Songwriter of the Year (artist).

Former Royal Tailor frontman Tauren Wells was named New Artist of the Year and Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year. He is also featured on Social Club Misfits' "War Cry," which was awarded Rap/Hip-Hop Recorded Song of the Year.

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year went to Jekalyn Carr for her "One Nation Under God." Carr who is 21 debuted in 2012 at age 15 with her single "Greater Is Coming."

Tasha Cobbs Leonard took home Gospel Artist of the Year, and Urban Worship Album of the Year for "Heart, Passion, Pursuit." Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year went to Marvin Sapp for "Close," while Producer of the Year (team) went to Jason Ingram and Paul Mabury.

Anthony Brown & group therAPy received the honors for Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year with A Long Way From Sunday, while Koryn Hawthorne and Roshon Fegan's "Won't He Do It" took home Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year.

In the Southern Gospel category, the Gaither Vocal Band won Southern Gospel Artist of the Year, while Mark Lowry took home Southern Gospel Album of the Year for "What's Not to Love." Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year went to Jason Crabb for his "Washed By The Water."

The two-hour 49th Annual GMA Dove Awards show will be broadcast on TBN on Sunday, Oct. 21, at 8 p.m CT.

For the full list of Dove Award-winners, please visit DoveAwards.com, and follow BREATHEcast for the latest news about the GMA Dove Awards.

Don't miss

Breathecast Staff Picks - Christian Gift Guide

Today's playlist