Guy Penrod Releases New Hymn Collection 'Blessed Assurance'

Marcus Lundin Mar 03, 2018 02:35 PM EST
Guy PenrodCover for Guy Penrod's 2018 hymn collection Blessed Assurance.

Recording artist Guy Penrod has released his latest album, Blessed Assurance, an all-new collection of hymns produced by Penrod and Jonathan Crone. The new album features some of the most popular hymns of the church, many classics that are some of Penrod's personal favorites as well.

Blessed Assurance is Penrod's seventh solo recording and, apart from the title song, contains hymns such as "There Is Power in the Blood," "The Love of God," "In the Sweet By and By," "I Surrender All," "In the Garden," all featuring the singer's personal style.

Penrod says about the release, "It's with great excitement that I release my second album of hymns, Blessed Assurance. These are twelve more of my favorite hymns that express valuable truths about God's love and care for us."

He explains, "These musical arrangements were designed to invite listeners to sing along to these timeless lyrics of eternal hope, and I hope they will do just that and find refreshing and strength from these ageless hymns, just as I have."

Blessed Assurance is not Penrod's first foray in hymn recordings, with his 2016 CD and DVD LIVE Hymns & Worship claiming the No. 1 spot on the Southern Gospel chart as well as the No. 2 position on the Contemporary Christian Music chart the week of its release. The DVD landed at No. 1 on the Christian Music Video chart, as well as the Billboard Music Video chart.

For more information about Guy Penrod, visit his website, Facebook, and Twitter. A preview of the new hymn recording can be viewed below:

Full Track Listing For Blessed Assurance:

1. Blessed Assurance

2. Before the Throne of God Above

3. There Is Power in the Blood

4. The Love of God

5. In the Sweet By and By

6. Standing in the Need of Prayer

7. I Surrender All

8. My Jesus, I Love Thee

9. In the Garden

10. Draw Me Nearer

11. Day by Day

12. I Will Sing of My Redeemer

Don't miss

Today's playlist