Jason Nelson & Madison Ryann Ward score 250,000 streams with "Made New"

Jason Nelson & Madison Ryann Ward
Jason Nelson & Madison Ryann Ward |

Crooner Jason Nelson and songstress Madison Ryann Ward have teamed up for a smoothly soulful duet, “Made New” (Jaelyn Song/Tyscot / Fair Trade), which has racked up over 260K streams since its May 10th digital release. The mellow blend of dreamy, cotton-like backing vocals, a redemptive lyrical message, and two commanding vocal stylists makes for a future Quiet Storm radio classic. The song was recorded live at World Overcomers Christian Church in Durham, North Carolina for Nelson’s You Belong: Live in Durham (Jaelyn Song Music / Tyscot / Fair Trade) project that releases everywhere on June 7th. : https://fts.lnk.to/Youbelong

YouTube Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9L1iEs67HYo

“I saw a post Madison made singing `God is Good’ by Jonathan McReynolds,” Nelson recalls of first discovering Ward’s music.  “That 45 seconds instantly made me a fan.  I followed her music releases and reached out to see if she’d be interested in being a part of the recording and she agreed to be a feature.”  The track was polished by Dana Sorey who has produced or collaborated with Urban AC acts such as Eric Roberson, Algebra Blessett, and Boyz II Men. “I am so grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this song,” Ward says. “My prayer is that anyone who hears it will be equally as blessed. The message is something to be celebrated…praise God we are made new.”

Jason Nelson has amassed over 250 million digital streams during his two-decade career. His velvet-like tenor has distinguished gospel radio hits such as  “Nothing Without You,” “Shifting the Atmosphere,” “Residue,” and “Forever.” Four of them have hit No. 1 on Billboard’s Gospel Airplay chart. Nelson has also recorded with GRAMMY® Award winning artists such as R&B chanteuse Chrisette Michele, Jazz bassist John Patitucci, and producer, Donald Lawrence.

Madison Ryann Ward shot to fame off a viral cover of Aretha Franklin’s “Chain of Fools” a decade ago. She was signed to storied producer Rick Rubin’s (Johnny Cash, Avett Brothers, Public Enemy) American Recordings label where she released songs such as “Mirror” and “BRKN.” She performed “Mirror” on David Letterman’s My Next Guest Needs No Introduction on the episode featuring Jay-Z.  That brought a lot of buzz. In 2023, she formed her own independent label, Zelda House Records, where she has released a string of un-plugged, soulful songs that showcase her unique vocal style and technique. She’s garnered over 100 million digital streams to date.