Tyscot Records and affiliated artists earn 5 Stella Gospel Music Award nominations

Tyscot Records Earns 6 Stellar Gospel Music Award Nominations
Tyscot Records Earns 6 Stellar Gospel Music Award Nominations |

Indianapolis, IN - Tyscot Records, the oldest operating African American owned gospel label in the land,  and its affiliated artists have bagged six nominations in the forthcoming 39th annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards.

John P. Kee, known for classic hits “Jesus is Real” and “Standing in the Need,” is nominated for a project close to his heart. He convened an all-star troupe to honor his musical mentor and spiritual father, Bishop Rance Allen, who passed away in 2020.  The six-song, Tribute to a Legend: Rance Allen, Chapter One (Kee Music Group), features performances from Kelontae Gavin, Deitrick Haddon, and Gene Moore. Allen’s signature song, “Something About the Name Jesus” was redone with Zacardi Cortez, Melvin Crispell II, Lewis Sky, and a sample of Allen. The set earned Kee nominations as Traditional Male Artist of the Year and Special Event Album of the Year.

Anthony Brown & group therAPy’s 6th album, Affirmations (Key of A / Fair Trade), earned two nominations in the categories of Duo/ Chorus Group of the Year and Contemporary Duo/Chorus Group of the Year. The project’s first single “Speak Your Name” peaked at No. 1 on Billboard’s Gospel Airplay chart and the current single “Up Up Up” is up to No. 18 on this week’s chart.

Louisiana native Bri Babineaux is hard at work on her first album in three years. The first single from the soon-coming project is the Billboard No. 1 Gospel Airplay hit, “I Will Wait” (Bri Babineaux Music, LLC ).  The music video earned a nomination for its director Avery Henley. 

Finally, crooner VaShawn Mitchell’s album, Chapter X: See the Goodness (V Man/ FairTrade) , has earned him a nomination in the category of Praise and Worship Album of the Year off of the strength of the No. 1 hit, “See the Goodness,” a duet with Donnie McClurkin. The Stellar Gospel Music Awards take place Saturday, July 20, 2024, at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.